Mono printing

19/09/116

Today I was introduced to mono printing.  Both prints were made from photographs taken in ‘Document the day’. They are close ups of parts on gravestones in Darwen cemetary.

Using a non porous glass plate and a soft rubber brayer I rolled the ink out for even coverage I then blotted the paper to take any excessive ink off and then laid a clean piece in its place. I had to be careful not to press on it. I masking taped my image on to the a piece of paper so that it wouldn’t move and the traced in pencil to transfer the image through the paper and marking with the ink creating a positive print. I did 2 images like this. This second image I forgot to blot the excess ink before I begun to trace so the results are very dark and textured.  I placed another piece of paper to get a negative of the  image print. 

Leave a Reply

