Textiles roundabout

4/10/16
Using an embroidery hoop and a sewing machine with an embroidery foot attachment, I attempted to create the design seen on one of the gravestones stones at Darwen cemetery ‘Document the day’. I didn’t draw the design on the piece of material first although I regretted this almost immediately . I just wanted to experiment and get used to moving my hoop around the machine so the end result was just an experiment and to see what I could and couldn’t do.

I was introduced to several ways of creating surface designs. Here I used dyes and bleach and marbling.  Unfortunately I haven’t been able to do the screen printing yet but I hope to participate in that next week.

I was also introduced to the cyanotype photographic printing process or blue print process as it is otherwise known. The process uses two chemical iron compound solutions, Feric ammonium iron citrate and potassium ferricyanide . Paper or any absorbant material is coated with the solution over night and dryed in the dark. Negatives are placed on the material to make a print and uv light is used to expose the print. Once fully exposed our prints were processed by rinsing under cold water creating a cyan-blue print. This process was discovered by astronomer sir John Hershel in 1842. Sir john also gave us words such as Photography, negative, positive and snapshot. (www.alternativephotography.com/wp/processes/cyanotype/cyanotype-classic-process) 

 

 

I also experimented with my print on wallpaper, I used wax crayon and dye and using the material I had marbled and dryed earlier began to make my piece 3D  using the sewing machine drawing around the flowers and adding lots of texture. The piece isn’t completed yet but I hope to finish and post it soon.

I have hand sewn some yarn on to some of the flowers in similar colours to make the flowers 3D. The yarn adds more Texture to the piece. 

 

Leave a Reply

