I am very lucky to have access to the creative brains of talented and experienced tutors and lecturer’s on my Foundation Art and design course at Blackburn college and one of these tutors/ lecturers is former Tompaulin band member and The Saatchi gallery magazine writer Jamie Holman. Jamie was born in 1973 in Scotland but was raised and works in Blackburn and is currently Programme leader BA (Hons) Fine art at Blackburn college/ University. As a student in the 90’s Jamie moved to London and was never comfortable there “what I knew was I come from a wonderful place I hate”.  Jamie achieved a BA (Hons) and a MA from Chelsea School of Art and was Tutored by  Conceptual artist Gillian Wearing and has recently had his own solo exhibition at Derbyshire Space,  London. Jamie recently did a talk at Blackburn University about his latest works exhibition and his early works in performance and moving image which he exhibited in Bloomberg New contemporaries 1996 at Tate Gallery Liverpool and Camden Arts centre London.

Even now much of Jamies work comes from what he values and when he explains how he came up with an idea it always has a narrative behind it. I really like it when artists have a story or a reason for making a piece of work. I find it easier to see how the pieces communicate. It seems like the narrative  helps in forming the idea that creates words of a song, a story, a lecture, an article or a piece of Art that Jamie creates. Jamie confesses to being  “a realist”.

The recent works of Artist Jamie Holman were inspired by the  Film ’71’  set in 1971 Belfast Northern Ireland about a young british soldier (Jack O’Connell) who becomes separated from his unit during a riot in Belfast. Some of the filming took place in Blackburn April 2013 and Jamies media students got the chance to be extras in the filming. The film was released in 2014 and Jamie watched it, only then realising the similaritys between the story told in ’71’  and a story closer to home.  Jamies own Father was a young British soldier and was shot in the Belfast Riots so the film struck a cord and Jamie begun to look through old Photographs he had inherited of his Father in Belfast. Taking Photographs in and around Blackburn Jamie merged them with the nostalgic photographs and created a series of prints and a commisioned piece for the Saatchi Gallery magazine. All the pictures I have included in this blog have come direct from Jamies website. https://jamieholman.com/category/work/

 

A C I D  H O U S E  I N T E R N M E N T  I N C I D E N T

 B l a c k b u r n  2 0 1 6   w i t h  B e l f a s t  1 9 7 2  d e t a i l

white insert


J U S T  W H A T  I S  I T  T H A T  M A K E S  T H E S E  H O M E S  S O  I D E A L ?

white insert

Screen print incorporating photographs of Belfast 1972 and Blackburn 2015

J U S T  W H A T  I S  I T  T H A T  M A K E S  T H E S E  H O M E S  S O  I D E A L ?

white insert

Screen print incorporating photographs of Belfast 1972 and Blackburn 2015


C A R R Y  T H E  N E W S

white insert

Commission for The Saatchi Gallery Magazine Art and Music Winter 15/16 issue.

white insert

“I was invited to use the magazine as a space in which to make a new piece of work.

Carry The News is a fictional account of the day my father was shot in Belfast. Using T.V. listings, the top ten, found photographs and my screenprint, “Just what is it that makes these homes so ideal?” I propose an anonymous narrative, in what could be either Belfast or Blackburn.”

white insert

   carry the news 1

white insertcarry the news 2

During that time in Belfast the women would warn the men that the soldiers were coming and bang their dustbin lids on the concrete. This inspired ‘Monument’ the sound captured within a heavy sculpture where concrete met galvanised steel.  3 Internal casts of galvanised steel dustbin lids.  Ciment fondu- Aggrigate concrete -Mortar

 white insert

M O N U M E N T

” if they banged the lids, we smashed their windows with our rifles”

 IMG_6376

 EditJamie purchased a rubber bullet case and made pot versions of the the rubber bullets that were supposed to be harmless and printed them with a popular dinner service design of the time and look so much better than they are photographed. 


17 people were killed in Northern Ireland by members of the security forces who were using rubber or plastic bullets (also referred to as ‘baton rounds’).  Eight of the 17 killed were children. All but one of those killed were Catholics. (cain.ulst.ac.uk/issues/violence/rubberplasticbullet.htm)


S E V E N T E E N  P I E C E  S E R V I C E

P o t t e r y ” r u b b e r  b u l l e t s “

w i t h  d o m e s t i c  d i n n e r  s e r v i c e  d e c a l

white insert

Also during the Riot’s ‘Riot sticks’ were used and Jamie created a replica of a  Riot stick from fine bone China changing the hard exterior for something delicate so the easily damaging becomes easily damaged.

Jamie made a series of time consuming but Beautiful photographs of the Dustbin lids he had purchased. called ‘Rough Music’ they were all given names taken from the streets of Belfast and Blackburn.

R O U G H  M U S I C  

white insert

F A L L S  W A T E R  D R I V E – O P E N S H A W  D R I V E

white insert

jh-f11-lid-004_w2_1000mm

C – T y p e  p r i n t    1 0 0 0 m m  X  1 0 0 0 m m

M a p l e  F r a m e   24 m m (face)  x  3 8 m m (depth) moulding

U V  p r o t e c t i v e  g l a z i n g

white insert




E V E R Y T H I N G  S T O P P E D  –  F O R  T O P  O F  T H E  P O P S

white insert

“On Thursday nights, the riot would stop when Top of the Pops was on T.V.”

Three 1970’S Milk Bottles

Laser etched with promotional photographs of “Pans People”

and photographs etched on Plaster with a laser cutter.

T H E  K I D S  R O U N D  H E R E

L a s e r  c u t  d r a w i n g on plaster

white insert

the-kids-round-here-plaster

img_4248

white insert

B A N K  T O P

Laser cut drawing on plaster

white insert

bank-top

I really like most of Jamies pieces because I can see them used in the right interiors and environment. I love the C-Type prints ‘Rough music’  the most with Falls water drive – Openshaw Drive my favorite and I did my very best to try and obtain a poster of it but unfortunately I failed.  I could even see the internal casts being used but more as a garden sculpture or stepping stone.

I will definitely take inspiration from Jamie and would like to Photoshop some of my past photographs with my most recent ones. I also hope to have an inspired narrative behind my work because I think that’s why I loved Jamies work so much. The narrative behind it made the work and pieces so interesting.

 

When we went on our trip to London we were all really excited to see Jamie’s work in person. We were welcomed with drinks and Jamie had to be filmed closing the successful exhibition after being on show for the best part of Two months . Jamie talked about his work and about making the Pieces, his inspiration and about what was successful and unsuccessful and then gave everyone a chance to ask questions afterwards.  I am pleased we got to see his exhibition in person, it was inspiring to view how the film inspired an idea and a fantastic series of Contemporary Art.

Leave a Reply

