Exhibiting my work for Sale.

We were all asked to exhibit our work for the potential commission piece.  Some students only had a Maquette to show off their design concepts and there were a lot to choose from. It  was really quite scary and we were all feeling the nerves. I was really nervous knowing I had to talk about my work.

 

The Lady was greeted at the entrance by the Tutors and they had a chat before she was shown upstairs to look at the work exhibited. We were then asked to come and stand by our work and talk about it. We brought other pieces of work to show off to her as well as Kim thought she may be interested in other pieces. I was profusely perspiring by then.  First I talked about the laser etched piece and Kim my tutor thought she might be interested in the piece with some special framing. I then talked about my wire bird and Rabbit and explained I was just showing my skills of what could potentially be made if she was interested in the wire pieces and then we moved onto the sculpture I designed for the brief. I explained that I had designed the piece around using the most of the space in her unit that was in the brief. The Gentleman with her asked more questions and asked me if the battery pack could be moved or hidden somehow and if more lights could be added to the piece down the spine and around the bowl bottom and I said they could be added no problem, also adding that the lights could be changed for a mains plug option if they would prefer.

I didn’t win the commission with the lady I designed the piece for, she chose a piece by one of the second year degree students. Who had been influenced by an artist she was interested in.

Her piece was a highly finished piece of work. It was beautiful and If I have to be honest I had a feeling as soon as I saw it that she would win.

I have however been told that the gentleman who had accompanied her was her father and he loved my piece and wanted to purchase it for himself with the added lights and the battery packed moved. He will be in contact with one of my Tutors soon. So I now have to decide how much I want to sell my piece for.

I have no idea how to cost the piece of work. I know it has taken me at least 30 hours to make but I don’t want to price the piece to high that he changes his mind or is disappointed but I also don’t want to price the work lower than I think its worth. I have asked my Tutor and two other members of staff at college. so they think somewhere between £150 and £350. I think that If I was to look at it in a shop with handmade designs  I would probably expect to see a price tag around £280-£320 but I don’t know if I can really ask for that much. I guess its something I need to think more on and learn from. Hopefully keeping a record of time spent on my work in future will help me to cost my work and help prove of its worth but proving difficult because I am letting my heart rule my head. I love the piece of work and I am really pleased with how it turned out. Its a one of a kind, totally my design and creation and I haven’t made anything like it before. I have put my all into making it, blood, sweat, tears and sleepless nights poured into it. I wasn’t really as disappointed that the person I made it for didn’t want it.  Some people would think I would be glad to see the back of it but I am not. I know I have to think  Logically about it as I haven’t anywhere for it to go if I don’t sell it.

I decided to seek some further advice from friends and posted it onto my Facebook page.

facebook-feedback-friends

facebook-capture-friends

capture-fb-friends

I even searched for help via google and came across this Handbook for teachers.

Cost/ Value. Try selecting contrasting sculptures and look at:  The cost of the materials  The (sentimental) value to the owner  Does age enhance the value?  Why?   The selling price by the artist  The selling price by the gallery (usually the artist’s price + 50% or more)  The value to someone who loved/ hated it  The value if it were made by someone famous  The value if it is an original piece or a copy/ fake  The value if it is one of an edition of 10, 50, 500….  http://www.discoveryzone.org.uk/sculpture%20handbook.pdf (08/02/17)

I don’t know how much the Gentleman is willing to pay but I feel that if the price I suggest is to high for him then maybe he can make an offer or I will sell it at a later date to someone else who is prepared to pay what I think its worth.

Leave a Reply

